Brake caliper adjustment!!

Plodder82
Plodder82 Posts: 31
edited February 2017 in MTB workshop & tech
Replaced my Mechanical Tektro front disc caliper,for new/take off Hydro Avid 3's.
Cannot, in a million years, adjust the caliper pads from rubbing against the front disc.It really feels like the caliper is closed against the disc whist riding.
....I should add. I've been commuting ( for over 20 years).I assume I maybe need to bleed excessive fluid from the master cylinder .

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Or just ride for a bit and let the pads self adjust. Have you tried forcing them apart? Are the brakes actually on or just rubbing a bit?

Although I'm not sure what 'new/take off' means.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • as above, how much use have the new caliper/pads seen so far since been fitted.

it may just need a few rides use to bed the pads in ( wear off the top layer of pad as the pistons cannot be pushed any further back into the calipers. ( i had that on a new bike once, could not get the brakes to stop rubbing so just stopped trying & wore headphones for a few rides ( not my smartest move but it did the trick of stopping me hearing the brake rub )

now the brakes hardly ever make a noise unless in use & only time i hear em now is due to flex in the wheels/bike when hard cornering or really putting some welly into the pedals on a hill etc ( so not often at all as hills kill me lol )
  • JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    Have you used the correct washers for mounting the Avid caliper, including the dished tri-align washers.
    “Life has been unfaithful
    And it all promised so so much”

Giant Trance 2 27.5 2016 ¦ Sonder Broken Road 2021¦ Giant Revolt Advanced 2 2019 ¦ Giant Toughtroad SLR 1 2019 ¦ Giant Anthem 3 2015 ¦ Specialized Myka Comp FSR 2009
  • JGTR
    JGTR Posts: 1,404
    How are you aligning them? Loosen bolts and pull brake and tighten bolts?