Shoes for Duck Feet

secretsam
secretsam Posts: 5,120
edited January 2015 in Road buying advice
OK, I currently use Spesh MTB shoes and SPD pedals, but shoes are a bit too narrow for my feet and I find my feet move around too much in them

I've got duck feet - narrow at the back but like tennis rackets at the front - any recommendations for (road) shoes? I was thinking Northwave but tried some recently in 43 and slightly too narrow - I wear a 43/9 in normal shoes but the Spesh are 44. Should I try a 44 Northwave???

And how are other shoes for fitting - I know Lake are good, but finding them is hard and LBS only stock the pricey ones :(

It's just a hill. Get over it.

Comments

• jordan_217
    jordan_217 Posts: 2,580
    I am very similar, I've been wearing NW for the last 5-6 years as nothing else I've tried is wide enough.

I own several styles of NW at the mo and the sizing does vary, e.g I'm a 45 in my Extreme Winter boot, a 45.5 in my Extreme SBS shoes and a 46 in my MTB Arctic boots. I would recommend trying a different size.

HTH
    “Training is like fighting with a gorilla. You don’t stop when you’re tired. You stop when the gorilla is tired.”
  • Bont wide fit are the best wider shoes I've found and if needed you could mould the heel and rear foot in.
  • secretsam
    secretsam Posts: 5,120
    Bont wide fit are the best wider shoes I've found and if needed you could mould the heel and rear foot in.

I was kind of hoping not to spend more than (say) £100?

It's just a hill. Get over it.
  • Lower end NW are probably your best chance then.
  • Dippydog3
    Dippydog3 Posts: 414
    Try Shimano M088 MTB SPD shoes. These come in wide fitting, which is only wide at the front. I have similar issues and find them very comfortable.
  • foggymike
    foggymike Posts: 862