Cube Di2 £1499 OR Tarmac Ultegra £1530

cartwheels1986
cartwheels1986 Posts: 3
edited December 2014 in Road buying advice
I'm after a bit of advice for my first road bike. Been into mountain biking before and I'm willing to spend a bit of money to get something decent. The two bikes that have caught my eye so far are the Tarmac Comp at Evans for £1530 and the Cube Agree GTC Di2 at Bike Shed for £1499.

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/specialized/tarmac-comp-2013-road-bike-ec042268#select

http://www.bikesheduk.com/cube-agree-gtc-di2-slt-compact-2013

Just after a bit of advice on which I should go for. The Cube obviously looks like a better deal on paper and I've got a Cube mtb that I really like. Just wondering if there is any reason a road beginner shouldn't go for Di2? I'm fine with maintaining my mtb but don't really know what I'm doing when it comes to the Di2.

Cheers

Comments

• The Cube is a good buy, but it is the older 10 speed groupset. As a newbie I would have though a Di2 would be easier to use than a mechanical groupset, so I would not let that put you off it is a bonus IMHO
  • They are both 10 speed, as they are both 2013 models.
    The CUBE is available in more sizes,,,
  • Cheers guys. I wasn't too bothered about going 11 speed. At 6'2" I was thinking 58cm on the Tarmac and 60cm on the Cube (I've heard that Cubes come up a little bit smaller?) so either should be fine. I've got a mate that raves about his Di2 so I'm leaning towards that.
  • northpole
    northpole Posts: 1,499
    There's no reason at all not to go for Di2 - if anything it should be easier for you to get gear changes right and not have the front derailleur rubbing against the chain.