Giant Advanced v's Giant Advanced Pro

copperthorpe
copperthorpe Posts: 82
edited January 2015 in Road buying advice
Hello folks,

been looking to upgrade my Defy Composite to a 2015 Defy Advanced but I no longer see Composite frames on Giant's Website & I am sceptical about whether the Advanced is now the old Composite?

Can anyone shed any light on this as Giant's site doesn't have any info(that I can find)about the Advanced Pro,so is it 'spec' thing or something else?

Thanks.
C49

Comments

• stepdavi
    stepdavi Posts: 135
    The advanced and pro are both t700 carbon, with the advanced having alu steered and pro Having carbon. I got a 2015 propel advanced 1 and it's quality.
    2016 diamondback heist 2.0
    2015 giant propel advanced 1
    2015 Genesis day one disc ss
    2014 giant roam 2
  • They both have full carbon forks actually if the UK spec sheet is right. It'll state Aluxx steerer
    Source : I work in a shop which just got the new TCR Advanced in
  • dj58
    dj58 Posts: 2,217
    The Advanced has OverDrive steerer, the Advance Pro has OverDrive 2 steerer.

http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-gb/tec ... rdrive/50/
  • Thanks for the replies folks....looks like I'll be getting a new Advanced next year. :D:D:D
    C49
  • simonj
    simonj Posts: 346
    DJ58 wrote:

I think the Giant explanation of OD vs OD2 (i.e. different diameter) is not the only difference for the 2015 Defy fork. As someone said before, the Advanced has a Hybrid (which I presume means alloy) - OverDrive Steerer and the Advanced Pro has a Full Composite OverDrive 2 Steerer which is full Carbon in addition to the different diameter.
  • dj58
    simonj wrote:
    DJ58 wrote: