Replacing Wheel Rims . . .

laurentian
laurentian Posts: 2,508
edited September 2014 in Workshop
Almost time to get the winter bike out and my rims are concave.

The bike is a 2nd hand Allez that I bought about 3 years ago - looking at photos on-line, it looks like a 2008ish model.

Although I've never done it before, I fancy (with the help of a bike fiddling friend) replacing the rims as the hubs and spokes seem fine (to my untrained eye).

There appears to be a bit of a dark art to wheel building with all kinds of variables coming into play, hub, spke number, effective rim diameter etc. but the existing wheels have no apparent branding or sizing written on them.

Is there a simple way or any tips from those in the know to find out which rims would be the most suitable given that I'm trying to keep the existing hubs and spokes?

Thanks in advance
Wilier Izoard XP

Comments

• What wheels are we talking about? It might not be at all possible
    left the forum March 2023
  • keezx
    keezx Posts: 1,322
    laurentian wrote:

Is there a simple way or any tips from those in the know to find out which rims would be the most suitable given that I'm trying to keep the existing hubs and spokes?

Thanks in advance

In order to use the existing spokes you heb to select a rim with exactly the same ERD or use another crossing.
  • laurentian
    Keezx wrote:
    laurentian wrote:

Thanks in advance

In order to use the existing spokes you heb to select a rim with exactly the same ERD or use another crossing.

Thanks - sorry to sound a bit daft but how would I establish ERD? Can it be done with a standard measuring tape or does it require a special caliper type device?
    Wilier Izoard XP
  • hypster
    hypster Posts: 1,229
    If you are at all serious about building your own wheels then I would suggest the best investment you can make is to pay for and download Roger Musson's excellent book. All the information you could ever need is contained therein.