Clip in pedals - Shimano 540 - Should I go for Light Action?

Atomic
Atomic Posts: 34
edited July 2014 in Road beginners
Hello all

Sorry, I guess this is one of those typical "newby" questions - but looking for some advice..

I'm new to road cycling and looking to get my first pair of clip in pedals, and looking at the Shimano R540, that wiggle have on offer at around £20, which seems a good price to see how i get on with this new concept of being clipped in!

Anyway, I notice that Shimano do the 540 in a "Light Action" version which is meant to be a bit easier for clipping in and out of the pedal.

Does anyone have any experience with the Light Action? Is it really that noticeably different?

Having never been in clippy pedals before, the idea of one that is a bit easier to get in and (especially!) out of is quite appealing, but at the same time, I don't want to buy something that after 2 weeks I'm pee'd off and end up buying the normal ones!!

Thoughts?

Comments

• simon_masterson
    simon_masterson Posts: 2,740
    If it helps, at lowest tension on an SPD pedal, your foot should come out with the slightest twisting motion - very easily. Even when starting out, you may find this too loose. Light action and multi release cleats are fine, but it really does not take long to learn. The worst thing you can do is assume it will be really difficult. The reason why so many fall over is that they aren't accustomed to having their feet attached to the pedals, not because of the release mechanism.
  • Atomic
    Thanks Simon

I think that clarifies the line of thinking that I was going down and will just go with the normal versions, rather than the light action ones.

Cheers

Shaun
  • The Mechanic
    The Mechanic Posts: 1,277