Replicating road problems on a stand

Colinthecop
Colinthecop Posts: 996
edited July 2014 in Workshop
I think I should be commended for this thread title, I was unsure how to summarise this thread in so few words so those forum members who are short of time didn't come here by mistake and blame me for wasting their time... But I think i've nailed it. :D

Anyways, I have a clicky noise. A gear clicky noise when I ride on the road. I thought maybe one of my mechs might have been rubbing the chain but all seems good.

However, when I stick the bike on the workshop stand and click through all the cogs, it's all good and surprisingly smooth (for a self taught indexer).... But back on the road, clicky gears.

:roll:

I just can't seem to replicate the problem I get on the road when the bike is on the stand.... :?

Perhaps i'm imagining it, but I don't think so, so i'm at a loss as how to sort it.

If it makes a difference, it's only on the large front chainring and the smaller rear cogs.

Comments

• mitchgixer6
    mitchgixer6 Posts: 729
    When you say a click what do you mean? Does it sound as if it's trying to shift to a different cog on the back? If this is the case it may be that the hanger is bent.

If you can't replicate it on the stand then not much else you can do but take a selection of tools out with you on a ride, or ride round the block, tweak something then round the block again.
  • Colinthecop
    Yeah, it could be trying to shift cogs, it's a repeated click....

But I don't understand why it won't do the same when it's on its stand.

It would just make things a bit easier. :cry:
  • Could it be from saddle, seat post or headset if it only happens when frame is loaded and force applied?
  • Colinthecop
    No, it stops when I freewheel.
  • Definitely sounds like it's from the bar tape...
  • mitchgixer6
    mitchgixer6 Posts: 729