Aching Wrists

drewesq
drewesq Posts: 137
edited July 2014 in Road beginners
Hi all

I am pretty new to road work and, to get started, I bought a second hand Carrera Virtuoso for the princely sum of £120! I am aware this is very much an entry level bike but I wasn't sure if I would enjoy riding a roadie so thought it better to go cheap!

Now, I have been to my local bike shop (not Halfords) and asked them to fit it to me, they flipped the stem and raised the saddle which helped a bit. I have centred the handle bars as they were a bit longer on the right than on the left. The bike shop said I defo didn't need a stem raiser.

Now I have plenty of energy in the tank to go more than 20 miles (and have done) but both my wrists really ache after about 10 miles. I change my hand position regularly and make an effort to use my core to hold the weight of my body but I still get sore wrists :(

It is a real bummer because I really enjoy the road work but feel like I'll probably not go as often as I would want to because of this problem

I am a shade under 6' and the bike is 54cm

Please help! :)
Cannondale CAADX Disc 2014 Tiagra - Blue
Charge Plug 0
Voodoo Bizango 2015
Ridgeback World Tour (mainly for commuting and holidays)
:mrgreen:

Comments

• Initialised
    Initialised Posts: 3,047
    At 6' a 56cm would likely be a better fit but a 54cm should be adequate.

It's probably a case of getting used to it.

You could try doing wrist curls and rotations so strengthen your wrists and speed up the process.
    I used to just ride my bike to work but now I find myself going out looking for bigger and bigger hills.
  • It sounds to me that theres too much weight on your hands which is to do with the set up.
    I'd sell it as I think it doesnt fit you and I'd buy a bike from a shop that has a good reputation with bike fitting. Then you will get somthing comfortable that fits.
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 16,551
    are you leaning on the bars? (don't)