Is the year of production/release really really matter?

smkso
smkso Posts: 14
edited June 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi, I am a beginner in road cycling and now looking for a new bike. Brand new bikes are mostly expensive so, I opted to look for used bikes mostly on eBay.

My question is, is the year of production or release of a bike really does matter?

For example, I found a really decent, reasonably priced bike on eBay which is Specialized Tamrac Elite 2010 with great specs (carbon body & fork, Shimano 105 STI..) Is it really much of a difference to buy an older version of a bike rather than a newer version? I am not sure how quick the innovation of cycling industry that makes something like 2010 almost obsolete.

Comments

• cattytown
    cattytown Posts: 647
    A 2010 bike will still be very rideable in terms of spec. If buying used, it could have a few thousand miles on and some components be a little tired. Really you need to get along and see a bike, ideally with someone that knows what they are looking at if you are unsure. You could get something that someone bought, rode twice round the block and put it away. Equally you could get something that has has a couple of hundred miles a week on it. If you can ask to see the sale receipt too...

Year on year updates are generally quite small - things like Sora losing the thumb shifters, Increasing selection on rear cassettes. Only occasionally with there be something that is a big step forwards, and for that you need to check the specs for each model year.
    Giant Defy 2
    Large bloke getting smaller :-)
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841