noise coming from crank (new bike)

xstrathyx
xstrathyx Posts: 1,104
edited June 2014 in Road beginners
Hi ladies and gents

I am a total novice when it comes to setting up bikes. Long story short, i got a new road bike last week and have ridden it about 80 miles now. Beginning to hear a clicking noise that i believe is coming from the right pedal crank side of bike.

for the life of me i cannot fathom what it is though. I have tightened the screw around the crank, checked the seat post and even my cleats on my shoes as i my bike enthusiast friend told me to do. went out for a 10 mile ride tonight and noise was abundantly clear again.

would appreciate if someone might be so kind to offer advice. i know it doesnt matter what bike as i am sure they are universal, but for the record it is a cube peleton pro with shimano 105 components (i was advised to get this on my first road bike).

Thanks in advance

Comments

• As it is a brand new bike can you not take it back to the shop where you got it?
    Or was it on online purchase?
  • xstrathyx
    the bike has a free service at the end of July but i think i might end up taking it back for the service before then. it is properly annoying me as i am worried ive raxed the crank (which i doubt)
  • ic.
    ic. Posts: 769
    Remove the pedal, clean and grease the threads (generous amount of grease). Attach to crank again and test!
    2020 Reilly Spectre - raw titanium
    2020 Merida Reacto Disc Ltd - black on black
    2015 CAAD8 105 - very green - stripped to turbo bike
    2018 Planet X Exocet 2 - grey

The departed:

2017 Cervelo R3 DI2 - sold
    Boardman CX Team - sold
    Cannondale Synapse - broken
    Cube Streamer - stolen
    Boardman Road Comp - stolen
  • BrandonA
    BrandonA Posts: 553
    xSTRATHYx wrote:
    the bike has a free service at the end of July but i think i might end up taking it back for the service before then. it is properly annoying me as i am worried ive raxed the crank (which i doubt)