Golden Rules & Easy Mistakes

bikerMau5
bikerMau5 Posts: 32
edited June 2014 in Road beginners
Hey,

I'm completely new to Road Biking (my bike hasn't even arrived yet!)

I was wondering if you seasoned cyclists could offer any golden rules & easy mistakes, any tips, pointers general starting advise would be excellent.

Thanks in advance

BM

Comments

• JackPozzi
    JackPozzi Posts: 1,191
    As some point you will come across "the rules".

They can safely be ignored. For the most part.
  • bikerMau5
    The rules? Okay I'm intrigued, anyone care to elaborate?
  • littledove44
    littledove44 Posts: 871
    http://www.velominati.com/the-rules

Some people say it's just a bit of fun.
    Some people say it's like the bible.

You be the judge.
  • bikerMau5
    Thanks, oxoman, great advice.
  • Slo Mo Jones
    Slo Mo Jones Posts: 272
    Brake first, before you check behind you. I went over the handlebars today after looking behind to check whether I could move out to pass a bus that had stopped. Saw that I couldn't, and when I looked forwards again there was a stationary car 5 metres in front of me. Still, at least the brakes are working well.
  • eyepic
    eyepic Posts: 58
    Good words from Oxman except ... If you don't wear a helmet you are a twonk (Darwin theory ....rules)
  • bikerMau5
    SloMo, that's sound painful! But I agree about the helmet, definitely not optional for me!

Had a read through the rules, some are great, some not so much.
  • BrandonA
    BrandonA Posts: 553
    Hydration is very important.

I rode with a friend a few weeks back and was shocked he didn't carry a pump or spare tubes. I think these are essential as you'd be gutted if you punctured > 10 miles from home and had to walk it.

Expect cars and people to pull out or step out in front of you.
  • balthazar
    balthazar Posts: 1,565
    Buy quality clothes, before fancy new bike bits. Comfort while riding makes everything nicer all the time.
  • Ber Nard
    Ber Nard Posts: 827