A relative beginners review of Mallorca

Tjgoodhew
Tjgoodhew Posts: 628
edited June 2014 in Road beginners
So im not really a total beginner having been cycling for 18 months with over 3000 miles under my belt. But until last week most of my mileage was on the flat roads of Essex with a few bumps thrown in around Kent. But this was my first trip abroad and cycling on roads that were initially a bit alien to me.

So from reading the forum i decide on 5 days in Majorca. Stayed in Cala D'Or and had three days bike hire from the Canyon Base. I had a Aeroad with Ui2 for one day and a CF SLX with Sram Red for the other 2 days.

Firstly i couldn't fault the guys at the Canyon Base. Bike was perfectly set up, they measured my saddle height and had a good chat with them about the routes i had planned.

And then the important part - the cycling. It was amazing. I covered just over 200 miles in three days which was quite a bit more than i usually do and took in a large section of the east coast of the island. The weather was perfect. Sunny and warm but never too hot and a gentle breeze. The roads were in perfect condition and as others have said the respect for cyclist verges on strange. The local traffic is quite happy sitting behind you even if there is more than enough room to pass.

On my final day i decided to ride the Sant Salvador and Cura one after the other. Was by far the hardest but most rewarding day of riding i have ever done. The two climbs were in fact a bit easier than i expected. I just dropped into a low gear and kept spinning and with the gradients never going above 10% when i got to the top of both i felt i could of gone on for more. And in a strange way was quite disappointed i was at the top.

All in all - anybody that is at the same sort of level as me and is thinking of doing something like this - DO IT. I had so much fun and everything about the trip was just perfect. I am already planning another trip in October to ride Puig Major and I cant wait !!!!