First Puncture (since I started riding again)

wytco0
wytco0 Posts: 79
edited December 2013 in Road beginners
Yesterday about 6 miles into my planned ride I got a puncture and the tyre deflated very quickly, I wasn't too bothered as I had a spare and a pump and some tyre levers, however the bike was pretty muddy and so were the wheels.

Took off the wheel but I could not remove the tyre as my plastic levers were completely useless and just bent (they are now in the bin), I had a plan B which was to phone partner and she arrived in about 20 mins. I also noticed that my hands got cold pretty quickly which along with the mud made the job pretty unpleasant.

Back home I removed the tyre with some old metal levers and found that there were 2 bits of sharp glass embedded in the tyre and one very small puncture in the tube, I was surprised as the tyre went down in a few seconds.

But it got me thinking and thought I would ask a few questions:
  • Should I carry more than one spare tube?
  • Should I just throw the puncture inner tube away or are they worth repairing?
  • Should I also carry a repair kit etc? I haven't carried one as I normally find it next to impossible to find the puncture without a bowl of water.
  • Is it worth carrying some gas to pump up tyre, I am a bit worried that I would struggle to get the pressure up to 100+ with my tiny lezyne pump.
  • If you do carry gas any recommendations?

Thanks

Comments

• cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Should I carry more than one spare tube? For me - 1 tube is normally fine. If it was a BIG ride or an important one - take two.
    Should I just throw the puncture inner tube away or are they worth repairing? Depends on the hole - where it is and how big it is. I'd err on the side of caution for the sake of £3 though.