MTB to RB

Mick-H
Mick-H Posts: 7
edited October 2013 in Road beginners
Posted this in the MTB section, thought it wouldn't do any harm posting it here.
Decided to keep my current bike till at least after winter to make sure that what I'm experiencing is not just a fad.
What I hope to do though is upgrade some bits and bats, namely the gears, maybe the wheels but that would be much further down the line.

Rear Derailleur SRAM X5
Shifters SRAM X5
Front Derailleur SRAM X5
Chainset Truvativ Blaze powersplined
Wheels Yes Mavic XM-317

I'll be using the bike to and from work and rides out when not in work. I'm doing it to gain fitness and lose weight.
I have to admit that I'm a complete beginner where all of this is concerned so any help will be welcome.

I've currently got my eye on a Shimano Tiagra Rear Derailleur and a Shimano Tiagra Hyperglide HG 50 - 12 to 25 Cassette from what I can gather these are decent entry level road bike equipment but would they be ok on a mountain bike/commuter bike?

Comments

• Don't bother, it's not worth it imo, and it's possibly not even compatible and for commuting through the winter, as long as it's in decent nick what you have is fine. Get some road tyres and you'll be sorted.
  • Really not worth the hassle putting road stuff onto a mtb, just stick to mtb components. However, as thejimmymethod says, put some slicks on.
  • As above. You could get some bar ends for a better position, too.
  • Mick-H
    Mick-H Posts: 7
    I've got Conti Travel Contact tyres and some bar ends, looks like I'm going in the right direction.
    Cheers
  • Initialised
    Initialised Posts: 3,047
    There are plenty of threads on hybridising MTBs in Commuting General.