OTB Jump

Gibbo3771
Gibbo3771 Posts: 145
edited July 2013 in MTB beginners
Hi guys,

Posting this in the beginner section for a simple reason, tips and a bit more info on my technique.

I was at Bonaly 2 days ago practicing, a little background about my biking. I have a fairly entry bike, Carrera Vengeance with Exiler 1's w/ Recon silvers forks as well as FSB chainset and Triumvate cranks. Pretty much entry level and not too bad stuff fort he money, I have been riding for 3 years but recently have been taking it exclusively offroad exploring the pentlands as well as Bonaly.

What I have done is injure my upper back, shoulder, head and collarbone. Can't move much!

So this is what happened and I want to know what I done wrong.

The jump is aprox 0.5 meters(I think, now that I measure it, might have been closer to 1 meter), nothing big and other side is a small gradient downhill, plenty of space either side.
I took a massive run up and gathered a stupid amount of speed.
I loosened up, center gravity of bike.
Right before the jump I leaned back.
Soon as I hit the air my body got lunged forward and bike went front heavy.
I hit the ground stupidly hard head first and black out for a few seconds.
I end up in the A&E :p.

So my technique, I am not sure what I done wrong. I was going too fast, that was one thing. Will this cause me to be more front heavy? I leaned back pretty far, could this have caused me to lunge forward when I hit the jump?

I have done jumps before and tbh, now that I look at it I can't quite remember what I was doing before, it feels like I have been doing the above the whole time. Perhaps the bump has messed with my memory but still...

I have this habit of riding 100% to my limit (I feel as if I learn more), I fall almost every ride but mostly just a shrug off and back on after I catch my breath/check for damages.

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812