What is the point of 23mm tyres..

Bustacapp
Bustacapp Posts: 971
edited June 2013 in Road general
...if 25mm roll faster?

Comments

• Buckie2k5
    Buckie2k5 Posts: 600
    im opening a can of worms here. More aero and less weight.
  • MartinB2444
    MartinB2444 Posts: 266
    Lighter, don't need as much clearance?
  • ju5t1n
    ju5t1n Posts: 2,028
    BR published this a couple of years ago... http://www.bikeradar.com/gear/article/b ... ths-29245/
  • i'd like to see some firm proof of that. I've been testing both 25 and 23 mm tires on and off for 2 years now and I must say It really depends on the rim width as well. A 25 mm vredestrein fortezza tricomp tire 'bulges' (like a lightbulb) on my wife's 19mm campagnolo rims while the identical tire in 23 blows up wider and is more forgiving on my H+son archetypes (23mm). I think the need and want for 25 mm instead of 23 has come from the increase in rim width over the last years. My ten cents would be to match the right tires with the right rims.
  • ju5t1n
    ju5t1n Posts: 2,028
    As per the link (and there are other studies if you Google for them) the research says 25mm is faster. It’s interesting because intuitively I would have expected 23mm tyres to be faster. And I still use them, despite having read that piece a couple of years ago - partly because the choice is better in 23mm and partly because of the clearance on my bikes. The clearance problem is a bit of a chicken and egg thing I guess.
  • GiantMike
    GiantMike Posts: 3,139
    Somebody will be on here in a minute claiming they can tell the difference in drag. Probably the same people who can tell the difference in stiffness between 2 different stiff cranks.
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015