Left standing and completely embarrassed

Vandiesel
Vandiesel Posts: 506
edited May 2013 in Road general
Lovely morning in Kent today so rude not to pop out for a couple of hours and 35 miles clocked.
Now, I'm very new to road biking and considered myself a young fit 51 yr old!
But,today in between Wye Crown, and the drop down into Braybourne Kent I was passed by two groups of 5-6 riders who just blasted past me like I was stood still! i didnt even get a chance to say "Mornin" I was so shocked at the pace they were going at and feel a tad embarrassed! Just said to myself "dont worry Andy, you've done 30 odd miles" Nah, not made me feel any better at!
Fair play to fittness chaps, Itilt my hat..
Giant TCR Composite 3

Comments

• RandG
    RandG Posts: 779
    If you were riding alone what else would you expect from a group ? Of course they're going to breeze past you.
  • Jon_1976
    Jon_1976 Posts: 690
    why let it bother you? 8) Its not a race, I've been overtaken by people a lot younger and a lot older than me. Either way, it doesn't bother me in the slightest.
  • Bozman
    Bozman Posts: 2,518
    Don't worry about it, whatever your age or experience there's always someone quicker.
  • What were they wearing?
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • Vandiesel
    What were they wearing?
    orange jerseys

Thanks chaps, sort of expected the replies tbh!
    Giant TCR Composite 3
  • bus_ter
    bus_ter Posts: 337
    New Riders underestimate the difference riding in a group makes. You literally get dragged along. It's why breakaways nearly always get caught by the peloton and spat out the back completely knackered while the peloton carries on like it's a Sunday club run..
  • iPete
    iPete Posts: 6,076
    Go try out a local club ride...
  • Vandiesel
    I think I'll work on my fitness for the summer before joining a club!
    Giant TCR Composite 3
  • goonz
    goonz Posts: 3,106