Triban Owners - Thoughts/Opinions Please

andy9964
andy9964 Posts: 930
edited April 2013 in Road buying advice
Help. I need to know what these bikes are like for reliability and warranty related issues. Have you had any problems you'd consider 'major'

I'm considering buying a 3/3A or 5/5A, but have a slight problem. I live 120 miles from the nearest Decathlon (half way between Edinburgh and Sheffield)

Being my first road bike I want to at least sit on it before buying. I don't mind the drive to get it, or even if I don't. I'm more concerned if it would need any warranty work doing and returning to the shop - I've already had this confirmed via email.

Or should I just MTFU considering its a decent spec for not a lot of cash in the first place

Cheers

Comments

• VTech
    VTech Posts: 4,736
    I love mine. It is great to look at and build looks fine although I'm no pro.
    I know people with thousands of miles on them with no issues and a company like decathlon will look after you come warranty time.
    Living MY dream.
  • goffski
    goffski Posts: 72
    I've done well over 1000 miles on my Triban 5 with just the one issue recently, something went wrong with the back wheel and Decathlon replaced without issue. He had it in the workshop and started to sort it right away. See below thead

viewtopic.php?f=40020&t=12908260&p=18173016#p18173016
  • kingofthetailwind
    kingofthetailwind Posts: 575
    edited March 2013
    After about 600 miles on mine:

Front wheel trued about two months after purchase

Bottom bracket replaced (to try and find the source of a creaking) and the rear freewheel replaced a couple of weeks ago.

All done free, straight away after coming in without an appointment.

There is an issue with the hubs on Tribans. But they are fixed/replaced free of charge as far as I know.

Overall very impressed with their customer service.

The workshop guys know their stuff. Compared to Halfords, they're pro mechanics.