halfords brands and branded

Anonymous
Anonymous Posts: 79,667
edited March 2013 in MTB buying advice
in a word how would you describe these bikes

I was browsing though the Halfords website looking at all the items I cant afford LOL anyway this popped up I cant afford it ofc but what do you think jus got me thinking a couple of questions can all bike's be upgraded? is the make of bike really such a big problem if you can upgrade anyway (ignore this question if you cant upgrade all bikes) are people getting tricked into paying for the name. jus curious to be honest I kind of know what people will say but im curious and yes i know that some times brand can make all the difference for example the difference between asda value chocolate and cadburys is pretty massive. but really can it make that much difference in the 2 products. if your going to answer yes please try to explain why remember total MTB noob here

£209 halfords looks okay specs seem okay no idea thou

http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... 65499#tab2

£549 Carrera bike that looks similar.ive not gone full on retard even i can see this one is made of better upmarket parts.but really £350 worth???

http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... yId_165499

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    To be able to upgrade a bike it has to meet the main modern standards in terms of BB shell, headtube sizing, disc mounts etc.
    Both these bikes are 68mm English thread BB and will take a 1 1/8" steerer fork.

You could upgrade either bike, and a friend has a Banshee with Rockshox Recon forks, SLX brakes, Halo rims, external BB crankset etc etc, it's a really nice ride, the frame is as tough as old boots, but you can't escape the fact the frame is heavy, really heavy, his has a coil shock and is 4Kg for frame and shock.