MTB / Commuter for around £600. Help!

daitken92
daitken92 Posts: 4
edited March 2013 in MTB buying advice
Okay so I need a daily commuter / something I can take through woodlands/rough tracks.

I shall be using it as a commuting bike for 90% of the time. However I would like to have the option to take it off road.

I have been looking at bikes with lockout suspension for better road use.

I've had my eye on the Trek 2013 4 series. The 4700 is £675. I'd probably get some slick MTB tires for daily use and then put the supplied ones back on if needed!

http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/mo ... 4700_disc/

I'm a noob when it comes to parts etc, what do people think of this bike?

Any suggestions for anything different? Slightly cheaper would be better! :)

Thanks!

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    That's poor value I'm afraid....

Anything sub £600 your looking at Halfords (Carrera or Voodoo range) or Decathalon (RR 8.1 at £550 which is better than many £700 bikes and worth about £500 more than that trek).

Also try paulscycles websites for any current bargains.

Don't get too hung up on lockout, a decent fork with proper damping has much less need of it than a rubbish fork with no damping, not sure if that Trek has a damper or not, you only really need a lockout if your up out the saddle, sitting you won't notice much difference.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Thanks! :D

I've been warned against bikes from Halfords?? You'd disagree then?. Just had a look at the Fury. Seems to be a well received bike!
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Halfords sell some horrible bikes (Apollo) and some excellent value bikes - Boardman, Carrera and Voodoo.

I was warned against not talking to strangers, but then I would never have met 'uncle' Ernie.
    I don't do smileys.