Fulcrum 3, two way fit, problem

Dobbo27
Dobbo27 Posts: 3
edited March 2013 in Workshop
I recently bought a pair of Fulcrum 3, two way fit racing wheels. They looked very nice out of the box, however the problems started when I tried to ride them as standard clinchers.
I fitted Continental GP4000s tyres and continental innertubes from my old wheels. A few days after fitting them they were flat.
I took them out, looked them over, put them in water and could see tiny tiny bubbles from the seam.
Thinking that I must have messed up I studied the manual, removed the rim tape, soaped the tyres and fitted two new innertubes. This time they were flat after c. 1 week.
I took them to a local bike shop and they replaced the inner tubes. This time they were still losing air but not so quickly so I used them on the turbo trainer for 2* 1 hr sessions. I came to do a third and found that tyre was flat and tube would no hold air.

Has anyone else had a similar problem?

Comments

• maybe it's time to go tubeless?
  • Ben6899
    Ben6899 Posts: 9,686
    edited March 2013
    If you're running clincher tyres and they are flat, then that is because the innertube has lost air.

The problem is solely with the innertube. Granted, poor installation can lead to pinching the innertube between the tyre and the rim OR causing damage to the tube against the spoke holes - both of these will lead to putting holes in the innertube and a subsequent loss of air.

Or the valve on the innertube may be faulty.

Unless I have misunderstood your post, the fact the wheels are 2-way fit should not impact the various ways in which an innertube can be caused to lose air.

There will always be bubbles collecting at the seam (of the innertube): the relief of the seam against the smooth surface of the rest of the innertube is where oxygen (from the water and not from inside the innertube) will collect.
    Ben

Bikes: Donhou DSS4 Custom | Condor Italia RC | Gios Megalite | Dolan Preffisio | Giant Bowery '76