Harrogate TdF Cartel

AlunP
AlunP Posts: 106
edited February 2013 in Pro race
Tried to get a two night B&B booking for a certain weekend in 2014.

The B&B told me that the local B&Bs have all agreed to operate a 3 night minimum stay policy. It's organised by their trade body apparently.

I am no expert on competition law but I think this sort of anti-competitive cartel arrangement is unlawful. Have asked the OFT for advice.

Watch this space - anyone else hit this? Or got a booking?

Comments

• inkyfingers
    inkyfingers Posts: 4,400
    Tell them you're gay, they won't dare discriminate against you then.
    "I have a lovely photo of a Camargue horse but will not post it now" (Frenchfighter - July 2013)
  • ed_209
    ed_209 Posts: 17
    They're allowed to set their own terms on rental. There are some places (York in my experience) where they will only rent rooms for a whole weekend rather than one night. Basic capitalism - demand is high so the suppliers set their terms.

It's not particularly outrageous, but it can be mightily frustrating if you're not expecting it.

Eddie
  • AlunP
    AlunP Posts: 106
    To quote that celebrated wearer of the maillot a pois Monsieur Meatloaf

"I would do anything for the TdF, but I won't do that"

and Ed

I agree that individuals B&Bs, hotels can do what they like - but collective action is unlawful in the same way as BA and Virgin cannot agree to set fares on the Atlantic route.
  • petemadoc
    petemadoc Posts: 2,331
    edited February 2013
    AlunP wrote:
    I agree that individuals B&Bs, hotels can do what they like - but collective action is unlawful in the same way as BA and Virgin cannot agree to set fares on the Atlantic route.

You are right that collusion between the business is wrong but really, it's not worth getting your knickers in a twist about. The prices and terms were always going to be SKY high for the tour. Demand will be high.