New Cassette

benthiss
benthiss Posts: 6
edited February 2013 in Road buying advice
Hey all, I'm new to road biking and have had my first road bike for about a month now. I'm finding the gearing on it a bit low though - so am having to use the higher gears or peddling faster than my friends who have also just started. So was wondering if I would benefit from a new cassette.

I currently have a 50/34 chainset with a 14/28 7 speed cassette, so would I get much benefit from a 11/28 tooth cassette such as this one: http://www.evanscycles.com/products/shi ... e-ec029802

The spacings on the 2 cassettes are:
Current : 14 16 18 20 22 24 28
Simano HG42 : 11 13 15 18 21 24 28

Would there be much difference between the two?
Thanks

Comments

• smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    If you are saying that 50/14 is still leaving you wanting more then the 11 will certainly give you that.

If you are saying its too hard then no, the 11 makes it harder.
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • sorry I wasn't clear, I'm finding that I run out of gears quickly, particularly on the smaller chainring
  • benthiss wrote:
    sorry I wasn't clear, I'm finding that I run out of gears quickly, particularly on the smaller chainring

Er, are we talking about cross chaining? ie, using the 34 chainring and the 14t cog? Naughty boy :wink:
    CAAD9
    Kona Jake the Snake
    Merlin Malt 4
  • should you not do that?

how far down the rear cassette can you go then in the 36 tooth chainring?
  • Usually never go in "big ring and big cog - small ring and small cog". The drive is most efficient in the central cassette area. What happens is the chain is pulled across the cogs on both the chainring and cassette and wears out faster. You also lose nearly 5% energy I believe.
    CAAD9
    Kona Jake the Snake
    Merlin Malt 4
  • ah fair enough, shall avoid that in future then