how easy is it to replace the hub bearings on my 2010 Focus

matt-h
matt-h Posts: 847
edited January 2013 in Workshop
Hi All,

the bearings are shot on my 2010 Focus Cayo.
i am hoping someone will be able to advise me on the best thing to do with it

I have popped it into my LBS 3 months ago to have a spoke replaced and he ssaid it was tired, he then relubed it for me as a temporary fix.

i have asked them to quote me, and they think approx £10 for the bearings and £20 fitting.
This seems like a fair plrice but i would like to know how to do it myself.
i also have a MTB that will need maintenance and i have been giving all my bikes to the LBS for a couple of years, so think its about time i did more myself.

I need to know which parts to instal, what else will need checking and the tools required.
I am pretty ok mechanically once i get into it, just a little lazy.

Also, my cables and BB30 will need attention soon, is there a haynes type manual for my particular bike?
it would be useful to know what parts to replace with what.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post

matt

Comments

• ADIHEAD
    ADIHEAD Posts: 575
    You don't say which bearings but I take it you mean rear wheel hub perhaps? You don't mention the type of wheel though? There is indeed a manual from Haynes, but not per model like there is for cars. You could search Amazon for it. My advice though, as you don't seem experienced and probably don't have the tools, would be to take it to your LBS as get them to do the work. The tools alone - bearing presses etc would cost far more than the labour;-)
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614