New to cycling, some advice please!

sartios
sartios Posts: 12
edited December 2012 in MTB beginners
Hi all

I'm new to cycling, I have no idea about the different makes, sizes etc etc...

I'm looking to buy a bike for commuting, and for trails/woods etc, and to lose a bit of weight.

I'm 5'7 and 12 stone, and would like to tone up, been looking at a Claud Butler Stone River which someone is selling which hasn't been used, just been sitting in a garage covered up for 2 years, it has 24 shimano acera gears, qmd disc brakes, suntour xct suspension folks,
weinmann double wall rims and more complete with lights, computer, pump and bottle holder.
He wants £225 for it, is this a good deal and good for what I want it for?

Many thanks.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    It sounds a good deal. But does it fit? I'd try it first. Remember you will have no warranty or anything - I'd also invest in some tools and equipment and learn the basics.
  • sartios
    sartios Posts: 12
    edited December 2012
    I am going to have a look tomorrow, it's an 18" frame and 26" wheels,

b.jpg

What sort of tools do you recommend? it's mostly all quick release, also are they a good make? Claud Butler?

I'm on a budget an £225 is my limit.
  • supersonic
    Perfectly reasonable make, good budget bikes. Lots of threads on equipment, but a good allen key set, teflon oil and teflon grease will get you started.
  • Thank you, I am on a budget, so £225 is my max, am I best off looking at something else? or will this be a good starter for mainly road and dirt use? as it comes with the lights computer and bottle/pump holders that's a bonus as I would of bought these anyway.
  • supersonic
    It is, of course, mainly geared for off road - commuting will be fine for shorter journeys (or longer, depending on your fitness).