Seemingly trivial things that annoy you

Comments

• rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 72,699
    What is lost in the noise is how far the asset management industry has moved in respect to the environment and social impact in just the last thee years.
  • haydenm
    haydenm Posts: 2,997
    What is lost in the noise is how far the asset management industry has moved in respect to the environment and social impact in just the last thee years.

As an Asset Manager I can attest to this point.
  • TheBigBean
    TheBigBean Posts: 20,621

As I said upthread, I don't think Extinction Rebellion is in listen mode.
  • haydenm
    PBlakeney wrote:
    HaydenM wrote:
    Again, pointing out their hypocrisy doesn't really get around the point they are making.
    I’d be more open to that argument if they were proposing any practical, workable solutions. As it is they are just a visible version of this site.

I heard someone on the radio recently in their defense saying they got the government to declare a climate emergency last time, now they are trying to get them to actually act on it. As I said earlier in the thread "They could literally be burning barrels of oil in the streets and it wouldn't change the fact that scientific facts need to be listened too and addressed".

I probably wouldn't do what they are doing, but then I'm not a climate change activist. I'm not a Londoner so I wouldn't feel the direct impact of the protests, but then I also wouldn't even hear about them if they were protesting in the same way that everyone else does. There are thousands of protests a year in London which barely make the news.

In the long term the activists will probably be on the right side of history whether we agree with what they are doing or not.
  • haydenm
    TheBigBean wrote:

Agreed, I'll be in London next week and if they don't kindly step aside when I tell them what I do I will be mightily disappointed :lol:
  • awavey
    awavey Posts: 2,368
    HaydenM wrote: