Front forks not using full travel?

Rushmore
Rushmore Posts: 674
edited October 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Ello.. i'm no expert on forks but I was wondering if anyone could help me out?

The forks i'm talking about are my Fox Float 32 with FIT with 120mm travel damping..

No matter how hard I try the forks will "bottom out" at 100mm only.. and will not use the extra 20mm...

can anyone advise me on what this problem can be? i've tried letting some air out the shock aswell so it runs a bit softer and there is still no change..

can anyone advise??

Thanks..
Always remember.... Wherever you go, there you are.

Ghost AMR 7500 2012
De Rosa R838

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    when you say bottom out is it a hard stop?

if air springs let all the air out and see if you can fully compress them.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • its not a hard stop, but it definitely stops... but its an air sprung fork..

I let SOME air out.. And it still stops in the same place... I don't have a shock pump so didn't want to make it unrideable...

Ghost AMR 7500 2012
    De Rosa R838
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    What is the sag? It is impossible to set the fork up properly without a shock pump!
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    buy a shock pump.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • the sag now is about 20%

But that is 20% of the stantion, not available travel...

feels comfy though haha... not too sure how it will fair up to bugger knocks..

SS I'm quite close to my LBS and relitivly friendly with them.. so I can use their tools and kit...

But yes.. I should buy a shock pump..

Ghost AMR 7500 2012
    De Rosa R838
  • benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    Sounds like too much oil to me.
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.