Is it worth spending extra on a first bike

joemoeboe
joemoeboe Posts: 3
edited October 2012 in MTB beginners
Hi I am new to the forums but been lurking on them for some time.

I want to get back into mtb having moved to Sheffield. I am really interested in the Boardman Team hardtail priced at £849 but have just seen that the model down, the Comp is reduced by £100 to £649. I would really like to know if I worth spending the extra? Given that if I didn’t I would have £200 to spend on goodies and kit to enjoy when out and about on the trails.

I want a versatile all-round bike good at climbing and still lots of fun on the downhill’s. All though I am a beginner I plan on doing more the just the tow paths and want a bike that I am not going to want to replace after just one year.

I know I can get good deals looking at second hand bikes and othe bike brands from my LBS but the is some thing about the look and feel of the boardmans that make me keep coming back to them.

Thanks in advance.

http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... yId_165499
http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... yId_165499

Comments

• Boardmans are great. Buy the best you can afford.
    2011 Carrera Fury

Earn cashback at CRC, Wiggle, Evans, Rutland, Hargroves, Halfords, and more at Quidco
  • the difficulty is that i can afford both but i really want to know if it works out as value for money cos that extra £200 I would buy better kit in terms of helmet and lights etc. rather than making do with cheeper stuff and borrowed kit.
  • benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    The main difference you'd notice is in the frame and forks, actually, mainly in the fact that the frame is a newer tapered headset model. Other than that, the other differences would not be great. I dont think you'd tell much difference on the trail.
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.