Campy 11-speed Frankensprocket 11-29

rjkflyer
rjkflyer Posts: 102
edited September 2012 in Workshop
Hi Guys,

I've got a bike on order with Chorus 12-29 on a compact 50/34 (as I'm a feeble newbie).

Trawling the Campy parts data seems to suggest one could make an 11-29 from either an 11-2x AND my 12-29 (expensive solution), or maybe much more economically buying the parts separately. (i.e. CS-111, 11S-011, 11S-022).

Anyone done this?

Thanks!

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    Once you get above 70kph on a descent, which is achievable on 50x12, the need for an 11 sprocket is pretty well redundant as maintaining speed is often more about maintaining a good tuck. The only times you'll likely need an 11 is full-on sprinting or fast downhills on TTs - the fact that you're running a 29 rear sprocket suggests you're not doing either?
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • I'd made a few custom cluster combinations for my campag kit (although 10 speed), including a 11-28 using this miche kit.

It worked really well for me and it allows me to replace individual sprockets rather than the whole set. They were sold by Company Z in England, but I'm not sure if they are still operating?

BTW Don't allow yourself to be discourage from having a 11/50 combination on a compact chainset especially if your a power rider and don't spin
  • Thanks guys.

I guess my slight 'worry' is moving from a hybrid with 48/38/28 and 11-34 is that i might be missing some pace with 'only' 50-12. (Hence my desire to look at getting a 50-11). I went for the 30-29 as I'm not yet good enough to climb without some help...

Given the new roadie will be a lot lighter (6.5kg versus 12kg) then perhaps I should wait and see how i get on before I start messing with the cassette...?
  • yes wait before spending any cash