MTB to Road

RamanSingh
RamanSingh Posts: 8
edited August 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
hey guys!,

as you can see im quite new to this bike stuff and just wanted to get some help and advice.

earlier this year i suffered a severe knee injury and have now begun my road to recovery. however my physico has advised me not to run due to impact on knees, therefore im getting back on my bike;

currently i have a erm.. Carrera Fury 08. from those 'good' old guys at halfords and am hoping to put change the tires to road. just until i can afford to buy a road bike. just wanted to know what kind of tire would be best or what i should be looking for and if its just as simple as taking the 'dirt' tire off and sticking the road tire on?

Thanks

RS

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Plenty of road biased tyres available for your Fury, Schwalbe city jet are the good budget option (£10-13 each), although there are faster rolling/more puncture resistant/lighter they will cost you a fair bit more.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • stubs
    stubs Posts: 5,001
    I got a pair of Bronx 1.5 slicks off Woolyhatshop for my sisters bike. They arent light but roll well, have plenty of rubber in the sidewalls and only cost £16 delivered. When I fitted them I used Slime puncture resistant inner tubes and so far no punctures, whereas before she was getting at least 2 a week on her commute.

http://www.woollyhatshop.com/Tyres/26-Slick-Tyres/Bronx-26-x1-50-Slick-Sport-Bike-Road-Tyre/prod_2377.html
    Fig rolls: proof that god loves cyclists and that she wants us to do another lap
  • The Rookie