Can a bike be too good for a rider?

smartn
smartn Posts: 27
edited August 2012 in MTB beginners
OK, may sound strange but I am fairly new to this game (been cycling off road for a few months now but really love it). I have recently changed my bike from a Spec Hardrock Sport Disc to a Diamondback Axis 2012 as I got an offer I couldn't refuse. The Axis is a very lightweight hardtail as opposed to the hardrock being a pretty heavy hardtail. On uphill I love the Axis but on downhill and cornering particularly in the wet the Axis feels very skittish. I'm pretty convinced its down to my inability as a rider and hope I can improve! I was wondering what other peoples views are.

Comments

• YeehaaMcgee
    YeehaaMcgee Posts: 5,740
    Can a bike be too good for a rider? No.
    Can a bike be unsuitable for a rider? Yes, probably.
  • smartn
    Do you think that its possible that with time I can adjust to the bike and if so how long would you expect that to take (I know, how long is a piece of string type of question) but I'm guessing you experienced guys have tried many different bikes over the years so know how quickly you can get used to a new bike. The other thing is the handlebar width feels a lot wider than on the hardrock (670mm bar on the axis, not sure what it was on the hardrock but felt considerably less).
  • waby1234
    waby1234 Posts: 571
    Yes, could be 6 minutes, 6 hours, 6 days, 6 weeks... You get the idea!
    2011 Carrera Fury

Earn cashback at CRC, Wiggle, Evans, Rutland, Hargroves, Halfords, and more at Quidco
  • YeehaaMcgee
    YeehaaMcgee Posts: 5,740
    Just ride it, until you form your own opinion about it. There's no point listening to how long I, or any other rider would take to adapt, or what we'd prefer in a bike.
    Skittishness can be a result of either a lot of weight on the front wheel and a steep head angle, or it can also be the result of weight being quite far rearwards, and a slack head angle.