Aftermarket fork for Ribble Gran Fondo

Shuggy76
Shuggy76 Posts: 91
edited March 2013 in Road buying advice
Hi all,
I was wondering if anyone has any experience of buying aftermarket carbon forks for the Ribble Gran Fondo. I'm quite new to road biking and have been offered a GF at a reasonable price, and tbh it looks excellent VFM and it's the kind of frame i'm after. ... but, i've been in conact with Ribble, and they can't supply a fork on its own for the bike.

Is there anything special about the sizing on the fork steerer itself which makes it unique, and need it's own brand of fork to match it, or can you help me find a good aftermarket carbon one?
Cheers in advance!

Steve

Comments

• rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    I don't think there is anything unusual about the Gran Fondo's fork. Ribble should be able to clarify the spec. I do know that Hope have some pool bikes for their staff which are Gran Fondos in Hope colours and with a different fork (I think with a carbon steerer) - so there are alternatives out there. No idea what they used but I'd assume it is one of the non specific forks that Ribble sell.
    Faster than a tent.......
  • tonybanham
    tonybanham Posts: 64
    Hi Shuggy76,

If you require Gran Fondo fork I have a new one in the garage which has never been used- PM me if you are interested in buying.
  • skyblue337
    skyblue337 Posts: 135
    I'm a big fan of Ribble but I don't understand this policy. What happens if you damage your forks in some way? They really wouldn't just sell you replacement forks?
  • ajb72
    ajb72 Posts: 1,178
    skyblue337 wrote:
    I'm a big fan of Ribble but I don't understand this policy. What happens if you damage your forks in some way? They really wouldn't just sell you replacement forks?