Singlespeed conversion

jamesyp21
jamesyp21 Posts: 36
edited July 2012 in Workshop
Right, so I am very new to the fettling world, and having bought one of the Lidl stands the other day, I feel I should use it to build something useful with something that is falling apart in my shed.

I have an old Dawes 200 road bike and I want to make is a singlespeed, so I was going to buy this:

http://www.winstanleysbikes.co.uk/product/8526/DMR_Single_Speed_Chain_Tensioner_Kit

Is this all I need for the rear wheel? I am able to deal with the front cog myself.

Thanks,

James

Comments

• daveyroids
    daveyroids Posts: 223
    That looks about right. Welcome to my world I love single speed / fixed. Don't know why but I fell like I'm 10 years old again when I'm riding mine.
  • jamesyp21
    That's kind of what happened to me when I borrowed my brothers Spesh Langster.

Also, embarrassingly, how I feel when cycling a Boris Bike around London!

Thanks for the confirmation. I'll get cracking and be a "fakenger" in no time!
  • daveyroids
    Was thinking,

Don't know your budget or preferances but I bought a Giant Bowery on Ebay fairly cheaply which was collection only (£140). You could then have a proper single spped and a geared? Just a thought.
  • cycleclinic
    cycleclinic Posts: 6,865
    If your old dawes has forward sliding dropouts then you will not need the tensioner. If you cannot get the chain to join with your cog choice then a half link would have to be used or use a different rear cog. Each tooth added/taken away adds/takeaway 1/4" from the chain wrap.