Which screw

Dan_Giant
Dan_Giant Posts: 72
edited July 2012 in Workshop
Tonight I noticed that when I'm in the bottom gear on the rear cassette that it makes a clicking noise where the chain is obviously rubbing something it shouldn't.

I have Sora gears, so was just wondering which screw it would be to adjust to stop it. From what I could see there were 3 to choose from.

The gears move smoothly and quietly the rest of the time and it doesnt seem to make a difference which cog I'm on at the front.

I've only done a few rides on the bike since new a few weeks ago, so it's just bedding in. I could take it back to the shop but I'd rather just sort it myself if it's just a screw.

Thanks

Dan.

Comments

• houndlegs
    houndlegs Posts: 267
    I'm no expert,but I'd find out where it's catching before you adjust anything.
    You say it's when you're in the small gear on the back,it's not the chain catching the front derailleur is it? If you are in the small ring on the front?
    Does the sora's have the ability to move just a little ( think its called micro shift )?
    Two of the screws on the mech are limit screw,if the bike was set up correctly you shouldn't need to touch those.
    And anyways,if it's only a couple of weeks old and it's not too far,I'd pop it back to the shop and have a chat with them about it.
  • t.m.h.n.e.t
    t.m.h.n.e.t Posts: 2,265
    It sounds like the rear isn't centered, ie: the jockey wheel on the derailleur isn't centered on the current sprocket.

It could also be the chain rubbing at the front derailleur. Take it to a shop if you aren't sure.
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-hel ... derailleur

It's the lower of the two screws on the back of the rear mech - marked with an L - unscrew it (anti-clockwise) one half-turn and see whether that makes a difference. Unscrewing it too far can cause the chain to jump off and even worse, the rear mech ending up in the rear spokes so be careful.