rover_mad
rover_mad Posts: 7
edited June 2012 in MTB beginners
hi i am new to all this

i have had my bike a while and my mate took me out today
i am experiencing some problems thou i have no brakes in the rear any more they just stopped working
any help of what to do will be much apreciated
i got disks in the rear it only a cheap £200 bike as that all i could aford but i am thinking of upgrading from there and use mine as a base

help much apreciated
chris

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    What bike, what brakes, what happened between working and not working.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Twelly
    Twelly Posts: 1,437
    As said above... brakes don't just stop working randomly. Something has happened. Crash? Knocked it over? Changed anything? Cleaned it with anything apart from water? Pikey with an allen key half-inched the brake?
  • cammer
    cammer Posts: 55
    Does the lever actually feel like it is braking or is it really soft? First of all check the pads are actually pushing against the rotor at the back when you pull the lever. If they are then it could be down to worn brake pads, or you have got some substance such as oil on the pads or rotor.

If the pads aren't pushing against the rotor then you'll need to find out if the brakes are hydraulic or cable. Likely cable at that price point, so follow it through from the levers to disc and make sure it isn't snagged, frayed or whatever.
  • rover_mad
    the weird thing is they started to work again they are cable but because it was full of mud the front suspention just aint suspention any more lol
    i am using this bike to start out as i build another one