Biking novice - new bike needed

Hidden Hippo
Hidden Hippo Posts: 79
edited June 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi everyone,

I'm a relative novice when it comes to cycling properly. However, I am wanting to get a little more involved and start using it as a fitness method, not just for commuting to the station. Just I'm on a very tight budget and looking for something better than my Raleigh Avalanche I am currently using. Lack of good brakes and no suspension mean it isn't especially comfortable, and and I definitely don't want too do lo g stints on the back of it.

Is it possible to get a mountain bike for light offroading which doesn't break the bank. I'm saving for a car so can't really spend more than £150 or so.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    £150 will get you a basic bike for the duties you say - but will end a careful eye keeping on it. it might not be much better than what you have though. What sort of kit/gears does the Raleigh have on it?
  • To be honest, the Raleigh has no kit. It's about as basic as you can get with gears. I'm not averse to going second hand, as I'm aware that £150 is next to nothing in bike terms.
  • Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    So what do you want help with or are trying to fInd out?
  • Well, as I said in the first post - is it possible to get a bike good enough for light offroading which won't break the bank?

By inference I guess I'm asking for particular models I should look at/avoid, or particular parts I could look to find on a model which would make it worthwhile.
  • Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    It's a case of defining off road. Any bike will go off road it's just a case of how well and how long it lasts.