Double to Triple?? new derailleurs needed?

benjii19
benjii19 Posts: 67
edited May 2012 in Workshop
I just upgraded to a Campag Triple (10 speed) from a double. But it has caused problems with the gearing as the changes aren't as good as with the double ring.

I've got a short rear mech, 8 speed cassette and a double front deraiileur. Which not being a cycle mechanic I believe could be the problem.

Does everything need to be campag to upgrade these to accept the triple? any ideas on parts I need and how cheap I can get them?

Comments

• benjii19
    Any ideas? at all?

Suggestions for which parts I can live with and which I can't live without. I'm looking at trawling ebay once I get some suggestions.
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 16,547
    for a triple chainset, you need a triple front mech and a triple shifter

if you post exact model details for the components you might get more specific answers
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • benjii19
    Campag 10 speed triple. campag front mech (double).campag rear mech(short). I wont be able to look at the bike till next week to find more info out. it lives at the inlaws.
  • mercia_man
    mercia_man Posts: 1,431
    Campag Ergo levers generally will work with a double or a triple as they're not indexed. But you need to match an eight-speed cassette with eight-speed levers, which I'm assuming is what you've got. I assume that when you say you have a 10-speed triple you mean the chainset. A 10-speed chainset should work OK with an eight-speed system.

It is possible to make a double front mech and short cage rear mech work with a triple set-up - I had such a system for several years in the 1990s - but it will never be that good. You really need a triple front mech and a long or medium cage rear mech. And they need to be Campag items.

Campag eight-speed systems are obsolete and you'd be best off changing the whole thing for 10-speeds. But that won't be cheap.
  • benjii19