crank changeover advice

iboga
iboga Posts: 7
edited April 2012 in MTB beginners
hi forum!
ive been riding MTB on and off now for maybe 15 years and have decided to get back on the saddle!
Im re-speccing a frame with some better parts and wanted to know if I can change a normal 3 ring crank with another that has exactly the same teeth count? Will this be OK or are there some major catastrophes waiting for me?!!

Comments

• oodboo
    oodboo Posts: 2,171
    Crank should be fine, just the BB that might cause issues, that and a worn chain unless you're replacing that and the cassette as well.
    I love horses, best of all the animals. I love horses, they're my friends.

Strava
  • iboga
    thanks for the help! the bike is totally new (in fact, I haven't recieved it yet!), so there's no wear on any parts.
    You mentioned the bottom bracket - its a square taper 68mm, what kind of compatibility issues may arise?
  • oodboo
    oodboo Posts: 2,171
    Most cranks now use external bbs. If you're replacing an internal one with an external one you'll need to get the bb shell faced. You're lbs should be able to do this for £15-20.
    I love horses, best of all the animals. I love horses, they're my friends.

Strava
  • iboga
    thanks again oodboo :] I think im good to go
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Maybe a bit more info, like what you bought and what you want to change.
    And why buy a new bike and start changing cranks etc?
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • iboga
    Hi! well I'm buying a MTB with a fitted Shimano Tourney which I researched and found it to be bottom of the line.
    Found a new Alivio on eBay which mirrors exactly the same fits as the Tourney and thought it would be a good investment. I really want to change the Shifters, front and rear mechs too! Maybe to Alivio or Deore
  • cooldad