Converting from Freewheel to Freehub

russyh
russyh Posts: 1,375
edited April 2012 in Workshop
Hi,
Coudl someone tell me if there are any complications or what i need to do when upgrading from a 7 speed Freewheel to an 8 or 9 speed free hub? Apart from upgrading my shifters etc. Will it just be a case of swapping wheels and settign the bike up? Or am i over simplifying the process. I am not after more gears really, but i would like a better (Used) wheelset, which by the looks of it would mean more gears on a cassetter set up?

Sorry if the above is a stupid question i am very new to all this. :roll:

Thanks

Comments

• schweiz
    schweiz Posts: 1,644
    You'll need a new derailleur as well. 7 speed derailleurs don't have the range of movement that a 8/9/10 speed derailleur has.
  • craker
    craker Posts: 1,739
    Gap between the dropouts in a 7 speed frame is ~120mm for and 130mm for 8,9 & 10.
  • schweiz
    craker wrote:
    Gap between the dropouts in a 7 speed frame is ~120mm for and 130mm for 8,9 & 10.

Is that always the case? My old Gary Fisher Mountain Bike is 7 speed and it has a OLN spacing of 135 mm the same as an 8/9/10 speed MTB?
  • russyh
    craker wrote:
    Does that mean it is not possible to d othe upgrade then? Or do you have to buy a 7 speed Freehub??
  • schweiz
    Russyh wrote:
    craker wrote:
    Does that mean it is not possible to d othe upgrade then? Or do you have to buy a 7 speed Freehub??

I'm not sure that all frames that had a 7 speed freehub/freewheel are 120mm, a quick google shows that 130mm 7 speed hubs were and are available. Measure the distance between the rear drop-outs if it's 130 mm (+/- 2 mm) then a 8/9/10 speed freehub wheel will fit. Then you will need new shifters, a new rear derailleur, a new cassette, a new chain and new chain rings.
  • russyh