After ride maintaince

destroyer
destroyer Posts: 4
edited February 2012 in MTB beginners
Hi all,

This is my first post, I'm relatively new to mountain biking and was curious to what level of maintaince you guys gave to your bikes after trail riding e.g cleaning, lubrication, checking nothing is loose ect.

Cheers

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Depends.
    Dry and dusty - a clean and lube as required. Not very often.
    Wet and a bit muddy - a clean and lube as required - maybe every few rides.
    Seriously muddy - a clean and lube as required - maybe every ride or two.

Should check things before every ride, but I do all my own work so just when I feel the need. Nothing's ever fallen off.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • chez_m356
    chez_m356 Posts: 1,893
    cooldad wrote:
    Dry and dusty - a clean and lube as required. Not very often.
    Wet and a bit muddy - a clean and lube as required - maybe every few rides.
    Seriously muddy - a clean and lube as required - maybe every ride or two.
    depends which bike, if the HT, as above, if the FS, if anything other than dry a full clean including tyres, but thats because it lives in the house
    cooldad wrote:

Should check things before every ride, but I do all my own work so just when I feel the need. Nothing's ever fallen off.
    apart from yourself :lol:
    Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc 10- CANYON Nerve AM 6 2011
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Good point.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • jus71n
    jus71n Posts: 138
    I do a full clean & lube every few rides, or as soon as I get home if its a muddy one, could be OCD!
    S-Works Tarmac Disc Di2 2017 :shock:

Felt AR3 Di2 :) (6870 11spd upgrade) 2012 - Now gone.

Cannondale Synapse Carbon Disc Ultegra 2016
  • sandy771
    sandy771 Posts: 368