improving speed.....

mtb crazy
mtb crazy Posts: 245
edited February 2012 in MTB beginners
is it really just practise?! ive been riding for about 8 months now and feel like i should be better at riding than i am! would wearing knee pads help, cos i am still quite nervous of crashing....

Comments

• 1mancity2
    1mancity2 Posts: 2,355
    Practice, position, tyres, confidence, loads of reasons but the main one is confidence.

Wearing armour will help if you fall off but should not be used as a reason to hit things faster invest in a skills course, best money you can spend and you will improve quicker.
    Finished, Check out my custom Giant Reign 2010
    Dirt Jumper Dmr Sidekick2
  • mtb crazy
    yeah am going to do one soon hopefully, most likely one of jedis :)
  • 1mancity2
    mtb crazy wrote:
    yeah am going to do one soon hopefully, most likely one of jedis :)

Honestly the best money you will spend.
  • Dirtrider
    Dirtrider Posts: 1,611
    pedal more.
    For Sale:

Specialized P3 Frame

Marzocchi Z2 Atom 80mm
  • agg25
    agg25 Posts: 619
    Find out what's holding you back. Is it fitness? You running out of breathe? If so work on this, ride more, for longer, cross train. If it's your technical ability, like losing speed around bends, you'd need to work on this, maybe try sessioning one tricky part of a trail over and over until you get better.
  • bluechair84
    bluechair84 Posts: 4,352
    Just keep riding. Maybe your not feeling confident because the tyres aren't grippy enough for you - think about some lighter weight and grippier rubber maybe? Watch the video on my blog post here- the rest of it is crap as it's written by me, but the video is very interesting.