Overuse/inexperience knee injury-advice please!

kbmack
kbmack Posts: 73
edited January 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all-I am new to road cycling this year and since I started in the summer I have been out and about very regularly. My training methods are largely old school and consists of getting on the bike and going for long rides and pushing hard. After about 2000 miles of this method since the summer I managed to do my knee a mischief on boxing day. A big zinging pain on the outside of the left knee with a peculiar 'shocking' sensation down the side put paid to a rather enjoyable, if cold, ride. I went to see the GP, who smiled and said something along the lines of giving the injury ten days-very helpful. Since then walking has been difficult, going up and down the stairs has been a trial and engaging the clutch in my clapped out car very painful. Anyhow, does anyone have an Idea what this might be, if they have suffered something similar before and, most importantly, any tips for treating the said pain in the saddle? I am booked to see a physio this Tuesday but any tips/ideas/advice would be most welcome.

Happy new year and thanks.

Comments

• sungod
    sungod Posts: 17,169
    see the physio and get proper assessment and advice, in the meantime, avoid putting any stress on it, i.e. rest, if there's any swelling you can try an anti-inflammatory, or an ice pack

there are umpteem possible causes, from bike-related such as incorrect set-up (saddle height/position and/or cleat position/float), to going too hard before warming up, or going too hard for current knee strength, or simply bad luck, etc. etc.

you can read more online, for instance...

http://sportsmedicine.about.com/od/bicy ... injury.htm
    http://www.kneeclinic.info/knee_sports_ ... ycling.php
    http://www.cptips.com/knee.htm

...but this is *not* a complete list of knee problems or solutions, it's just some general info