Cannondale Synapse vs CAAD riding position differences

gsvbagpuss
gsvbagpuss Posts: 272
edited November 2011 in Road beginners
Hello all

I have read a fair few forum posts and reviews of the Cannondale Synapse vs CAAD range and the opinion is generally "The CAAD would be more racier" and "The Synapse is a more upright position".

Now, my question is - how much should I care? I want to use the bike for commuting and some races in the summer but can imagine myself doing some sportives more than crit racing so do I need the CAAD geometry? I already have a flat-bar hybrid so a "proper" racing bike for ducking low and zooming along appeals and seems to fit a gap in my bike armoury.

I am by no means an expert cycling though so I wonder if my meagre skills will really notice a huge difference in riding position?

My next stop is the LBS who stocks 'Dales and try them but I wanted to situate my awareness :)

Comments

• t5nel
    t5nel Posts: 365
    Well...

In my opinion if your back can handle the racier position for the length of time you want to ride for then just go for which you prefer. Some of this is down to your age/physiology/history. That said, if it will be an everything bike then I would err on the side of comfort

You can of course do a lot of tweaking with spacers/stems but you will always be able to get lower in the CAAD all else being equal.
    My bikes
    MTB - 1997 Kona Kula
    Hybrid - Kona Dew Deluxe
    Road - 2011 Ribble Gran Fondo, Omega Matrix Ultegra
  • wiwaxy
    wiwaxy Posts: 16