Power meter to use with Garmin Edge 800

Dan Ingram
Dan Ingram Posts: 79
edited October 2011 in Road buying advice
Hi, my Garmin has the option to add a power meter to it. Garmin don't appear to do their own so can anyone recommend the best one to use with it?

Thanks
Dan
2011 Specialized Camber Pro
2012 Specialized Roubaix Elite

Comments

  • SRM
  • moonshine
    moonshine Posts: 1,021
    what is your budget?
  • dae
    dae Posts: 77
    I used a srm with a edge 705 and i also have a edge 500. Both worked fine. I do now have to replace the srm batteries (they died after 18 months). These are soldered to the circuit card and its expensive to send the crankset to srm and have them do this. So its diy time.
  • APIII
    APIII Posts: 2,010
    dae wrote:
    I used a srm with a edge 705 and i also have a edge 500. Both worked fine. I do now have to replace the srm batteries (they died after 18 months). These are soldered to the circuit card and its expensive to send the crankset to srm and have them do this. So its diy time.

    I sent mine to Scientific coaching. I think the battery is £55 which isn't a lot given the price of the SRM itself.
  • fish156
    fish156 Posts: 496
    I believe that you can use any powermeter that is sepcified as ANT+ compatible. That's basically all of them except Polar.

    I use a PowerTap with a Garmin 500.
  • rozzer32
    rozzer32 Posts: 3,827
    Really depends on what budget you have.

    If around £1000 then a powertap. If money no object then an srm. Have a look at the new garmin pedals.

    http://www.cyclingtipsblog.com/2011/08/garmin-vector-first-look/
    ***** Pro Tour Pundit Champion 2020, 2018, 2017 & 2011 *****
  • amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    rozzer32 wrote:
    Really depends on what budget you have.

    If around £1000 then a powertap. If money no object then an srm. Have a look at the new garmin pedals.

    http://www.cyclingtipsblog.com/2011/08/garmin-vector-first-look/

    Or a Power2max crank.
    More problems but still living....
  • Pokerface
    Pokerface Posts: 7,960
    The fact you asked the question (about being able to 'add' a power meter to a Garmin device) probably indicates you don't know much about them (and how much they cost).

    Essentially, any ANT+ wireless power meter can be read by the Garmin.

    But they are all pricey.

    In order of price, the big players are:

    Powertap
    Power2Max
    Quarq
    SRM

    A used powertap will run you around £500. A new SRM around £2500. That's the price range. (I've left out the new pedal-based systems as they are either not available or use proprietary hardware.)
  • doyler78
    doyler78 Posts: 1,951
    Be careful with used power meters as some will be pre ant+ wireless or wired models and thus will not work with your garmin device.
  • Pokerface
    Pokerface Posts: 7,960
    doyler78 wrote:
    Be careful with used power meters as some will be pre ant+ wireless or wired models and thus will not work with your garmin device.

    I'm ignorant on this subject. Is there such a thing as a pre-Ant+ wireless Powertap?

    How do they work then? Different wireless protocol? (Obviously the wired version is a different ball of wax - and these can be picked up for even cheaper!)
  • Pokerface wrote:
    doyler78 wrote:
    Be careful with used power meters as some will be pre ant+ wireless or wired models and thus will not work with your garmin device.

    I'm ignorant on this subject. Is there such a thing as a pre-Ant+ wireless Powertap?

    How do they work then? Different wireless protocol? (Obviously the wired version is a different ball of wax - and these can be picked up for even cheaper!)

    Yep, powertap can have the firmware updated though so not a major problem.
  • moonshine
    moonshine Posts: 1,021
    fish156 wrote:
    I believe that you can use any powermeter that is sepcified as ANT+ compatible. That's basically all of them except Polar.

    I use a PowerTap with a Garmin 500.

    +1

    thats what i use.... wireless SL+ on HED Jet 6
  • doyler78
    doyler78 Posts: 1,951
    Pokerface wrote:
    doyler78 wrote:
    Be careful with used power meters as some will be pre ant+ wireless or wired models and thus will not work with your garmin device.

    I'm ignorant on this subject. Is there such a thing as a pre-Ant+ wireless Powertap?

    How do they work then? Different wireless protocol? (Obviously the wired version is a different ball of wax - and these can be picked up for even cheaper!)

    Yep, powertap can have the firmware updated though so not a major problem.

    I know you can convert the old sl wireless powertaps however I wasn't aware that you could convert the wired powertaps. Is that possible?
  • Pokerface
    Pokerface Posts: 7,960
    doyler78 wrote:

    I know you can convert the old sl wireless powertaps however I wasn't aware that you could convert the wired powertaps. Is that possible?

    Yes (with some models), but it's expensive: http://www.cyclepowermeters.com/wired-t ... s-62-c.asp
  • doyler78
    doyler78 Posts: 1,951
    Pokerface wrote:
    doyler78 wrote:

    I know you can convert the old sl wireless powertaps however I wasn't aware that you could convert the wired powertaps. Is that possible?

    Yes (with some models), but it's expensive: http://www.cyclepowermeters.com/wired-t ... s-62-c.asp

    Ahh thanks for that.