Boxing up a bike to put on a plane

KnightOfTheLongTights
KnightOfTheLongTights Posts: 1,415
edited October 2011 in Workshop
Am going to be flying back from Nice in a couple of weeks' time and was thinking of just getting a disused bike package from a bike shop there to box it up.

What do I need to do? Remove wheels? Deflate the tyres? Bubble wrap the rear mech?

Thanks.

Comments

• Herbsman
    Herbsman Posts: 2,029
    This is a really good guide http://www.condorcycles.com/june-2010/p ... e-bag.html - applies to both bike boxes and bike bags
    CAPTAIN BUCKFAST'S CYCLING TIPS - GUARANTEED TO WORK! 1 OUT OF 10 RACING CYCLISTS AGREE!
  • rafletcher
    rafletcher Posts: 1,235
    You need to contact the airline you're going to use (or chaek their website) and see what THEY tell you to do. Other peoples experiences matter not a jot.
  • pilot_pete
    pilot_pete Posts: 2,120
    You can probably guess from my nick what I do for a living :wink:

I see close hand the art of baggage handling and must admit that my finest crockery probably wouldn't stand a chance....

So, depends how much value you put on your pride and joy. I personally treasure mine and as such rent a bike box when I travel abroad. I have used one of these http://bikeboxalan.co.uk/ which is about the best I have found on the market. They can be hired, or purchased. The hire option is cheaper from http://www.bikeboxonline.co.uk/HomeLondonandBristolHireHubs/tabid/627/Default.aspx Biggest plus is there is a metal pole between the two halves which protects against crush forces.