Fury 2009/10 Vs Fury 2011

Sysmic Wave
Sysmic Wave Posts: 4
edited July 2011 in MTB buying advice
Hi folks,

I'm a bit of a newbie but having started to cycle more and more I decided that I wanted a nicer bike.

Having read the reviews on this site I've pretty much made up my mind that a Carrera Fury is for me. Unfortunately I don't know whether to wait for the new model (released in September 2011 I believe) or buy the tried and trusted 2009/10 model!

I'm bowing to far superior knowledge here, but after looking at the specs of the old and new bikes, should I wait that little bit longer for the new one?

Thanks

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    The older model had the Tora 318 fork - this performs better in the rougher stuff than the Epicon, but is heavier. The old model also had better drivetrain parts.

If you plan to ride pretty hard, I'd get the older model.

The 2012 has an even lowlier fork and parts.
  • waby1234
    waby1234 Posts: 571
    I have a current fury and love it - very tough, good fork, and capable of everything I've thrown at it so far. How about picking up a bargain if you can?
    2011 Carrera Fury

Earn cashback at CRC, Wiggle, Evans, Rutland, Hargroves, Halfords, and more at Quidco
  • chopchop
    chopchop Posts: 158
    I bought a Fury a month or so ago and I am well impressed with it. It's performed admirably on the Wall, quick and light up the hills and controlled down the singletrack. It's not having a look in since I bought a FS Giant though, my old and fat a** copes much better with a rear shock.

I don't think the new one will be as good value for the price with inferior kit though,it will be interesting to read some reviews when it's released.
  • Bottster
    Bottster Posts: 18
    The older models currently still on sale have the Epicon fork. Not aware of any models currently available with the Tora?

New models look nice but i don;t think the spec is as good personally.
  • supersonic