toe clips

adamCCC
adamCCC Posts: 26
edited July 2011 in MTB buying advice
Hello,

Im relatively new to mountain biking, ive decided that i need some toe clips.

Ive got a carrera fury bike, do any mountain bike toe clips fit to any pedal? (usually?)

Theres a decathlon nearby, are these any good? http://www.decathlon.co.uk/EN/mtb-resin ... 171996235/ im thinking no as they are so cheap!

Also going to get this today http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... 42552#dtab as my tube is done!

any advice will be much appreciated

thanks

Comments

• BigLee1
    BigLee1 Posts: 449
    IMO toe clips are bloody dodgy and went out with the ark!! Why do you feel you need some? Especially on a mtb?
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    do you have a death wish? seriously dont bother.

but if you insist then they all do the same job of keeping your feet strapped to the pedals so you can not remove them.

if you want connection get so SPD pedals and shoes.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • adamCCC
    i was thinking about them as a cheaper alternative to buying new pedals and new shoes.

i live in northern ireland, so its alllllways wet and very slippery

ive currently got these mudguards, http://www.evanscycles.com/products/cru ... query=crud

could you recommend a front mudguard? i cant find the front one of this set
  • adamCCC
    just guna go with the crud one.

going to need a new back tyre soon, could anyone reccomend one from the following?

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/offe ... RatingDESC

i use the bike for a mixture of off road and toe path
  • pugaltitude
    pugaltitude Posts: 191
    Iv got a 10 Fury and I use toeclips.
    I would love SPD's and shoes but mortgage and family comes 1st.
    I dont understand why people slag them off. Iv used them for years.