sew up tire slippage

classic road
classic road Posts: 7
edited June 2011 in Workshop
I have been using sew ups for about 20 years using Continental adhesive with no adhesive problems.

During this time I had been using Continental Sprinters. Several years back, after numerous flats with the Sprinters I switched to Tufo and liked the Special 25's ride.

Last year, after mounting a new one, I noticed that after several hundred miles the tire stem was at a odd angle. Removed and ree glued several times and gave up on this as maybe a faulty tire. This year cleaned the rim and mounted another Tufo 25 and had the same thing happen. Continentals on sister rim has not had any problems.

Oh the rim is a Campy 36 spoke aluminum.

Could this be a recent Tufo problem or maybe Continental has changed the formulation??
The louder he talked of his honor, the faster we counted our spoons. "Ralph Waldo Emerson"

Comments

• term1te
    term1te Posts: 1,462
    Welcome aboad with your first post.

As a recent convert to Tufo tubs, I've only ever mounted them with Tufo rim tape, and in my limited experience never had a problem with the tub shifting around the rim. Maybe worth giving the rim tape a go?
  • rubbernekker
    rubbernekker Posts: 112
    Hey CR

First question- was the slippage in the direction you would expect it to be- ie if, when braking the tyre had slipped around the rim, the valve head would be pointing to a point in front of the hub?

Second question- what's the weather like in NE? Do you ride when its very warm?

Third- have many layers of glue built up over the years?

Lastly, like Term1te, I now use Tufo extreme tape and have had a lot of success with it- I don't race crits, but round Christchurch NZ there are alot of 20min, 13%+ curvy hills and they don't bat an eyelid. Plus if you flat you can wrestle your tyres off.