new to road riding help needed

kierhanlon6
kierhanlon6 Posts: 158
edited May 2011 in Road beginners
hello im new to road riding just brought a orbea onix t105 and have to wait 4-6 weeks to buy it. i was just wondering how far i should train for to start with as havent cycled a bike for about 6 years im 23 and 12 stone so want to get fit again im 6ft tall so im not fat just need fitness back. cant wait to get out on my bike. there is a few flat routes by me that varies in distance and there is a nice circuit that i will do when my fitness is up to scratch. how long would it take for me to ride a 25mile circuit 6months training?
cheers

Comments

• stokepa31
    stokepa31 Posts: 559
    id start off with a 10 mile loop and up it at 10% per week. speed will vary on wind etc but after 6 months of graft im guessing your average speed could be around 20mph on a flat course.

if 10 feels really easy then jump right to 15. just listen to your body and dont go crazy. once you have a basic level of fitness you will find that there are very few limits on distance. it comes down to making the training work for you. you could ride all day if you keep out of the higher heart rate zones. i tend to do a 20 mile loop if pushed for time and usually knock it out in just over an hour. at the weekend i will try and ride for 3 or 4 hours. much will depend on your latent fitness levels. you may be surprised how far and fast you can go on your existing fitness.

have a mooch through the fitness forum for training programmes and other useful tips..

oh and welcome to a very addictive (and expensive) pastime.
    Burning Fat Not Rubber

Scott CR1
    Genesis IO ID
    Moda Canon
  • oldwelshman
    oldwelshman Posts: 4,733
    2 to 4 weeks, your young.
    Do couple of 15 mile rides every other day, Second week do 20 miles or even more if you like and you shouldbe upto 25 easily after 2 weeks.
    Within a month should be capable to do40 to 50 easily.