Fitting pedals

jawooga
jawooga Posts: 530
edited May 2011 in Workshop
Okay, this is probably really easy but it's my first time fitting pedals.

1st problem is I cannot remove my existing pedals. I have a Jake the Snake with hybrd pedals i.e. flat one side and clipless the other. I want to remove these to fit some M520 pedals I have just bought.

They look to have an allen key location on the inside of the crank, so my assumption is this is where to loosen? Or do I need to use a wrench as well/instead on the outside? They are bloody tight, and I'm not getting much torque from my allen key.

The other question is which direction? I have read that the right pedal is anti-clockwise to loosen (and the opposite is true for the left pedal) when using a wrench on the outside of the crank. I.e. both loosen when turning the wrench towards the back of the bike from the "north" position. However, presumably if using an allen key from the other side of the bike, I need to turn towards the front?

Thank in anticipation.
J

Comments

• desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175
    To undo the pedal, turn them the same way as they rotate when you're riding.

So (looking at the bike in both cases)

Right pedal - anticlockwise
    Left pedal - clockwise

If you're not getting much joy with your allen key then you might need to get a long wrench on there. They are frequently extremely difficult to remove.
    - - - - - - - - - -
    On Strava.{/url}
  • andrewjoseph
    andrewjoseph Posts: 2,165
    Loosen towards the back of the bike, each side, tighten towards the front.

You may be better off with a 15mm spanner (they are usually 15mm as far as i know), on the flats (on the outside face of the cranks), if there are any.
    --
    Burls Ti Tourer for Tarmac, Saracen aluminium full suss for trails
  • RedJohn
    RedJohn Posts: 272